Research project
SIGMA3D

SIGMA3D

Interdisciplinary research project for the digitalization of orthotics

 

At present, orthoses are still largely fabricated by hand or as catalogue goods. Individual fabrications are currently still combined with a high level of manual craftsmanship. With the introduction of MDR next year, the approval of these aids will also become more difficult. This inevitably leads to an immense amount of time and an increase in costs.

In this respect, digitalisation in particular offers new opportunities for the medium-sized sector. The additive production of orthopaedic aids is becoming more and more common. However, a complete digital process chain from patient scan to additive manufacturing does not yet exist.

SImulationsGestützte

MedizintechnikplAttform

zur individuellen

3D-Hilfsmittelversorgung

engl.: Simulation-based medical technology platform for individual 3D aid supply

SIGMA3D_Forschungsprojekt.jpg
SIGMA3D Simulation.png

In order to counteract exactly this challenge, the three-year joint project "SIGMA3D – Simulationsgestützte Medizintechnikplattform zur individuellen 3D-Hilfsmittelversorgung" (engl.: Simulation-based medical technology platform for individual 3D aid supply).started in March 2020. The overall goal is to digitally map the entire digital process chain.


For the first time, a digital quality check is also to be carried out on the Mecuris Solution Platform by validated safety and performance tests providing valuable information for the product documentation required by MDR.

The digital process at a glance

SIGMA3D Prozess.png

As project managers, we, the Mecuris team, work together with our project partners from industry, research, service providers from the healthcare sector and health insurance companies to advance the future of orthopaedic technology. Orthopaedic companies, regardless of their size, will in this way be able to individually model and digitally test web-based orthoses using patient-specific data.

Project partners

AK.jpg
Antonius Köster GmbH & Co Kg is a provider of design and development services. For 25 years the company has been dealing with the introduction of 3D CAD/CAM workflows in companies, especially in the medical and Orthopaedic technology.
more information
Cadfem medical
CADFEM Medical has set itself the goal of making the added value of simulation benefit a "new" product: the human being. The company benefits from the extensive experience of more than 25 years of Finite Elemente Simulation and applies it in a new way.
 
More information
CCR.png
As a successful traditional company of the Berufsgenossenschaft Rohstoffe und chemische Industrie BG RCI, the core competencies of Care Center Rhein-Ruhr have been in technical orthopaedics and orthopaedic shoe technology for over 100 years.
More information
FHM_edited.png
The Department of Biomechatronics at Münster University of Applied Sciences focuses its research on rehabilitation technology and technical orthopaedics.
More information
LMU.png
The Clinic for General, Accident and Reconstructive Surgery at the University Hospital of Munich (LMU) contributes expertise as a medical user. In the SIGMA3D project, The clinic is testing the practical suitability of the digital process chain and evaluating the procedures from a medical perspective.
More information
  • White LinkedIn Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Google+ Icon
Mecuris is a young medtech company that improves medical care by 3D-printed individual orthopaedic aids such as splints (orthoses) and artificial limbs (prostheses), e.g. through the project management of SIGMA3D.
 
More information
MEC.png
  • White LinkedIn Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Google+ Icon
The owner-managed medical supplies store Gäher has eight stores and 53 employees with a regional focus on the Münsterland region. For the project, the extensive previous knowledge in area of the lower leg orthosis (AFO) is relevant. 
More information
SHG.png
  • White LinkedIn Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Google+ Icon
The Institute for Sociology (IfS) at the TU Berlin is one of the leading centres for sociological research on technology in Germany.
More information
Logo_der_Technischen_Universität_Berlin.

Associated project partners

FOR.jpg
FORMRISE sees itself as a “quality leader”. It all begins with the design of the components and ends with quality assurance and punctual delivery.
more information
  • White LinkedIn Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Google+ Icon
Techniker Krankenkasse (TK) is a German statutory health insurance company with currently 10.7 million insured persons
 
more information
Technische Krankenkasse.png

Funded by

BMBF_gefördert_vom_deutsch.jpg
Das Verbundsprojekt SIGMA3D ist gefördert durch das BMBF.

Recent topics

Subscribe to our newsletter to stay up to date on the SIGMA3D research project!

Project manager and contact person

If you have any questions regarding the SIGMA3D project, feel free to contact project manager Ylli Binakaj at yb@mecuris.com

YB (1)_edited_edited.jpg

Forschungsprojekt
SIGMA3D

SIGMA3D

Interdisziplinäres Forschungsprojekt zur Digitalisierung der Orthetik

 

Aktuell werden Orthesen noch größtenteils handwerklich oder als Katalogware hergestellt. Individuelle Anfertigungen sind gegenwärtig noch mit hohem handwerklichen Aufwand verbunden. Mit Einführung der MDR wird zudem auch die Zulassung dieser Hilfsmittel erschwert. Das führt zwangsläufig zu einem immensen Zeitaufwand und treibt zusätzlich auch die Kosten in die Höhe.

Hier bietet vor allem die Digitalisierung neue Möglichkeiten für die mittelständisch geprägte Branche. Die Auftragsfertigung von orthopädischen Hilfsmitteln wird immer geläufiger. Allerdings existiert bis jetzt noch keine vollständige digitale Prozesskette vom Patientenscan bis zur additiven Fertigung.

SImulationsGestützte

MedizintechnikplAttform

zur individuellen

3D-Hilfsmittelversorgung

SIGMA3D_Forschungsprojekt.jpg
SIGMA3D Simulation.png

Um genau dieser Herausforderung entgegenzuwirken startete im März 2020 das auf drei Jahre angelegte Verbundprojekt "SIGMA3D – Simulationsgestützte Medizintechnikplattform zur individuellen 3D-Hilfsmittelversorgung". Gesamtziel dabei ist die komplette Wertschöpfungskette digital abzubilden.

 

Zum ersten Mal soll auf der Mecuris Solution Platform auch eine digitale Qualitätsprüfung durch validierte virtuelle Sicherheits- und Leistungstests durchgeführt werden, die wertvolle Informationen für die von der MDR geforderte Produktdokumentation liefern.

Der digitale Prozess auf einen Blick

SIGMA3D Prozess.png

Als Projektleitung arbeiten wir, das Team von Mecuris, gemeinsam mit unseren Projektpartnern aus Industrie, Forschung, Dienstleistern aus der Gesundheitsbranche sowie Krankenkassen daran, die Zukunft der Orthopädietechnik voranzutreiben. Orthopädischen Betrieben, unabhängig von ihrer Größe, soll es so zukünftig möglich sein, webbasierte Orthesen anhand patientenspezifischer Daten individuell zu konfigurieren und digital zu testen.

Projektpartner

AK.jpg
Die Antonius Köster GmbH & Co Kg ist ein Anbieter für Konstruktions- und Entwick-lungsdienstleistungen. Das Unternehmen befasst sich seit 25 Jahren mit der Einführung von 3D-CAD/CAM-Workflows in Unternehmen insbesondere der Medizin- und
Orthopädietechnik.
Mehr Infos
Cadfem medical
CADFEM Medical hat es sich zum Ziel gesetzt, den Mehrwert von Simulationen einem „neuen“ Produkt zugute kommen zu lassen: dem Menschen. Dabei profitiert das Unternehmen von den Erfahr-ungen aus über 25 Jahren Finite Elemente Simulation und wendet diese neu an.
 
Mehr Infos
CCD.jpg
Als erfolgreiches Traditions-unternehmen der Berufsgenos-senschaft Rohstoffe und chemische Industrie BG RCI liegen die Kernkompetenzen von care center Deutschland seit über 100 Jahren in der technischen Orthopädie und der Orthopädieschuhtechnik.
Mehr Infos
FHM_edited.png
Das Fachgebiet Biomechatronik der FH Münster verfügt über Forschungsschwerpunkte zur Rehabilitationstechnik und Technischen Orthopädie. Dies umfasst u.a. Laborprüfverfahren für Orthesen und Entwicklung von mechatronischen Systemen für die Rehabilitation sowie mobile Gang- und Arbeitspro-zessanalyse.
Mehr Infos
LMU.png
Die Klinik für Allgemeine, Unfall- und Wiederherstell-ungschirurgie am Klinikum der Universität München (LMU) bringt Kompetenzen als medizinischer Anwender ein. Im SIGMA3D Projekt prüft das Klinikum die Praxistauglichkeit der digitalen Prozesskette und beurteilt die Verfahren aus medizinischer Sicht.
Mehr Infos
  • White LinkedIn Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Google+ Icon
Mecuris ist ein junges Medizintechnik-Unternehmen, das die medizinische Versor-gung durch digital gefertigte individuelle orthopädische Hilfsmittel wie Schienen (Orthesen) verbessert, z.B. durch die Projektleitung von SIGMA3D.
 
Mehr Infos
MEC.png
  • White LinkedIn Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Google+ Icon
Das inhabergeführte Sanitätshaus Gäher verfügt über acht Niederlassungen und 53 Mitarbeiter mit regionalem Fokus im Münsterland. Für das Projekt ist insbesondere das umfangreiche Vorwissen im
Bereich des Unterschenkel-orthesenbaus (AFO) relevant. 
Mehr Infos
SHG.png
  • White LinkedIn Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Google+ Icon
Das Institut für Soziologie (IfS) der TU Berlin gehört zu den deutschlandweit führenden Zentren für sozialwissenschaft-liche Technikforschung. Dazu zählen der Fachbereich für Technik- und Innovationssozio-logie sowie Professuren für Organisationssoziologie und die Digitalisierung der Arbeitswelt.
Mehr Infos
Logo_der_Technischen_Universität_Berlin.

Assozierte Projektpartner

FOR.jpg
FORMRISE versteht sich als „Quality Leader”. Dies beginnt bereits mit dem Design der Bauteile und endet mit der Qualitätssicherung und der fristgerechten Lieferung.
Mehr Infos
  • White LinkedIn Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Google+ Icon
Die Techniker Krankenkasse (TK) ist eine bundesweite gesetzliche Krankenkasse  mit aktuell 10,7 Mio. Versicherten.
 
Mehr Infos
Technische Krankenkasse.png

gefördert durch

BMBF_gefördert_vom_deutsch.jpg
Das Verbundsprojekt SIGMA3D ist gefördert durch das BMBF.

Aktuelle Themen

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter und bleiben Sie immer auf dem Laufenden zum Forschungsprojekt SIGMA3D!

Projektleiter und Ansprechpartner

Bei Fragen zum SIGMA3D Projekt kontaktieren Sie gerne Projektleiter Ylli Binakaj unter yb@mecuris.com

YB (1)_edited_edited.jpg